Affordable Ad Rates

Affordable Ad Rates

Thursday, 9 October 2014

French Author Patrick Modiano Wins 2014 Nobel Prize in Literature

French author Patrick Modiano has won the 2014 Nobel Prize for literature. The award which presented to a living writer  is worth £691,000.

Modiano Japanese writer Haruki Murakami and Kenyan novelist, poet and playwright Ngugi wa Thiong'o to take home the highly coveted price. The last French writer to win the prize was Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clezio in 2008.

Modiano's debut novel, La Place de l'Etoile, was published in 1968 but, more than 40 years later, has yet to be translated into English. His most recent novel is Pour que tu ne te perdes pas dans le quartier (2014). A total of 111 individuals have been awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature between 1901 and 2014.

No comments:

Post a Comment